Porsche Motorsport Logo

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship

Formula E is the world’s youngest motorsport. Just ten years since the first Formula E Championship, its global popularity continues to soar. The 2023/2024 season promises both fans and teams a non-stop thrill ride, with electric racing making its debut in three different cities.

Taking the action to the streets in Season 10

One of the biggest distinctions between Formula E and other racing classes is that we are not limited to using traditional racetracks. The fact that most of the circuits incorporate city streets and existing sports stadiums in their respective host cities makes the racing so much more exciting and engaging for spectators. Invariably it requires more manoeuvrability and quicker reactions from the drivers. It also impacts on the design of the race cars, which are slightly shorter and not as wide as in other classes, to make up for the tighter turns and reduced overtaking room. 

Energy efficiency – the Holy Grail 

The very concept of Formula E was born from a desire to push the limits of performance efficiency through advanced engineering. Electric racing takes energy management and conversion to a whole new level. All-electric race cars are engineered to maximise energy conservation and conversion (in regeneration mode). The Gen 3 cars that are going into their second season maximise regeneration capacity with front and rear powertrains that almost double the generative potential of their Gen2 predecessors, which were only equipped with rear powertrains. They’re also lighter and more aerodynamic – all of which contribute to blistering top speeds of over 320 km/h. 

Familiar faces

In addition to classics such as Mexico City, Monaco, Berlin, London and Diriyah, the 10th season of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship has three new, exciting tracks in store for motorsport fans: Tokyo, Shanghai and Misano. After last year's premiere, Portland, Saõ Paulo and Hyderabad are also back as a race location. Rome and Jakarta are not in the mix for season 10. While the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team continues with António Félix Da Costa and Pascal Wehrlein as the main drivers, André Lotterer will return back to the team as our replacement driver alongside David Beckmann.

When do we go green?

The Championship kicks off with the first race on 13 January 2024 in Mexico City, where the team was on the podium in Season 9. It is followed by the night race in Diriyah where Pascal finished P1 on both race days in 2023. As such, the circuit holds a special significance for the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team. Whatever Season 10 brings, it’s certain to be an emotional rollercoaster.

Our Formula E Partners

TagHeuer Logo