Porsche Motorsport Logo


Qualifying: From pole position to the final.

The Porsche GT Team has secured the pole position in the GTE-Pro class during the season finale in Bahrain.

Factory driver Gianmaria Bruni drove the fastest round in the Porsche 911 RSR #91 during the qualifying on the Bahrain International Circuit. That means an extra point for the pole position in the 8-hour race in Bahrain.

Team colleague Michael Christensen qualified the sister vehicle with the number 92 for the third spot on the starting grid.

Once again, it's Ferrari versus Porsche in the battle for the GT world championship title. By obtaining the point for pole position, Porsche is on equal standing with Ferrari at the top of the manufacturer ranking of the FIA World Endurance Championship WEC.
At temperatures above 30 degrees Celsius, both works 911 vehicles sped away immediately after the clearance for the 10-minute qualifying session. Bruni broke off after his first round to conserve tires and brakes and prepare for the second attack.

This strategy proved to be perfect: The Italian chased across the 5.4-kilometer-long Bahrain International Circuit in a swift time of 1:56.143 minutes

It was important to get the world championship point for pole. Now, we're tied on points at the top and enter a thrilling finale. We will give our all and we'll see, what we get in return for it at the end of the 8-hour race.

Alexander StehligHead of Porsche Motorsport FIA WEC

The goal was absolutely clear – give all during the qualifying. That's what I managed to do. We are starting from pole – great. Still, it's a strange feeling, because it will be the last race of the Porsche 911 RSR of the factory team.

Gianmaria BruniPorsche 911 RSR #91
In the driver championship ranking, both, Estre/Christensen and the 911 RSR team around Gianmaria Bruni, have good chances to win the title.

The 8-hour race in Bahrain will start on Saturday, November 12 at 2:00 pm local time (12 pm CET)

Qualifying Results GTE-Pro class:

  1. Bruni/Lietz (I/A), Porsche 911 RSR #91, 1:56.143 minutes
  2. Molina/Fuoco (E/I), Ferrari 488 GTE #52, 1:56.419 minutes
  3. Christensen/Estre (DK/F), Porsche 911 RSR #92, 1:56.439 minutes
  4. Pier Guidi/Calado (I/UK), Ferrari 488 GTE #51, 1:56.472 minutes
  5. Milner/Tandy (USA/UK), Corvette C8.R #64, 1:57.539 minutes