Porsche Motorsport Logo
The Porsche 911 GT3 Cup VIP race car on track at Monza, the line says "The final countdown"


Round 8 in Monza, Italy.

Benvenuti al gran finale – in Monza, the anniversary season of the pinnacle of the international Porsche one-make series reaches its climax. The Temple of Speed will witness the final battle that will determine the champions. You won't want to miss it!

The Porsche Supercup and the Autodromo Nazionale Monza have a long history together. The first time the field of drivers in their 360-hp Porsche 911 GT3 Cup (996) cars took to the Lombardy racetrack was on September 13, 1998. That race was won by record-winning champion Patrick Huisman, who that year claimed the second of a total of four championship titles in his Supercup career.

After the turn of the millennium, the spectacular races and record chases continued on the fastest track in the Porsche Supercup calendar. The first Italian Supercup Champion, Alessandro Zampedri, was crowned here in the 2005 season, although the race itself was again won by Dutchman Patrick Huisman.

Porsche Supercup Champion Alex Zampedri with Patrick Huisman on the podium in Monza 2005
2016 provided another day to celebrate for Italian fans: Matteo Cairoli became the first Italian to win a race at Monza. Today, Cairoli is an official Porsche Driver and continues to compete in races on the international motorsport stage.
Racing driver Matteo Cairoli stands on the roof of his GT3 Cup and is celebrating his 2016 victory
And the records continue to fall at Monza with the latest generation of powerful Porsche race cars. In 2020, for example, #25 Larry ten Voorde (NLD/Team GP Elite) clocked 191.898 km/h, the highest average speed ever measured in a Porsche Supercup Qualifying Session. This also answers the question of why the Autodromo in Monza is called the "Temple of Speed". In the grand finale of this anniversary season, we expect more exciting high-speed duels.

Monza is the perfect stage for the series finale. We’re looking forward to finishing our first Porsche Supercup season here in front of the Italian Tifosi on the stands. It will be a great motorsport party together with F1!

Davide MazzoleniTeam Manager Ombra Racing
In Monza a complete field of 32 drivers will once again compete in the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. Joining the permanent drivers, Sebastian Freymuth (DEU) will once again drive car #4 for SSR Huber Racing, and Ugo Gazil (FRA) will be behind the wheel of #13 for CLRT. Ombra Racing provides one of four guest starters for the season finale with #29 Leonardo Caglioni (ITA). The other three come from the guest team Tsunami R.T. from San Marino, who also compete in the Porsche Carrera Cup Italia. At the wheel, among others, are the Italians #42 Giammarco Levorato and #44 Johannes Zelger. They will all be cheered on by the Italian motorsport fans as soon as they take to the track to contest the 2022 Overall Championship and 2022 ProAm Championship – high voltage excitement is guaranteed!

Provisional Entry List* Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Round 8, Monza

1Huber Racing (AUT)Morris Schuring⁴ (NLD)
2Huber Racing (AUT)Rudy van Buren (NLD)
3SSR Huber Racing (DEU)Laurin Heinrich (DEU)
4SSR Huber Racing (DEU)Sebastian Freymuth² (DEU)
5BWT Lechner Racing (AUT)Dylan Pereira (LUX)
6BWT Lechner Racing (AUT)Harry King (GBR)
7BWT Lechner Racing (AUT)Bastian Buus⁴ (DNK)
8FACH AUTO TECH (CHE)Alexander Fach⁴ (CHE)
9FACH AUTO TECH (CHE)Lorcan Hanafin⁴ (GBR)
10FACH AUTO TECH (CHE)Jukka Honkavuori (FIN)
11CLRT (BEL)Clément Mateu⁵ (FRA)
12CLRT (BEL)Marvin Klein (FRA)
13CLRT (BEL)Ugo Gazil² (FRA)
14Dinamic Motorsport SRL (ITA)Daniele Cazzaniga (ITA)
15Dinamic Motorsport SRL (ITA)Philipp Sager⁵ (AUT)
16Dinamic Motorsport SRL (ITA)Simone Iaquinta (ITA)
17Ombra S.R.L. (ITA)Loek Hartog⁴ (NLD)
18Ombra S.R.L. (ITA)Gianmarco Quaresmini (ITA)
19Martinet by Alméras (FRA)Dorian Boccolacci (FRA)
20Martinet by Alméras (FRA)Jaap van Lagen (NLD)
21Pierre Martinet by Alméras (FRA)Roar Lindland⁵ (NOR)
22Pierre Martinet by Alméras (FRA)Stéphane Denoual⁵ (FRA)
23Pierre Martinet by Alméras (FRA)Aaron Mason⁵ (GBR)
24Team GP Elite (NLD)Max van Splunteren (NLD)
25Team GP Elite (NLD)Larry ten Voorde (NLD)
26Team GP Elite (NLD)Jesse van Kuijk (NLD)
27GP Elite (NLD)Daan van Kuijk (NLD)
28GP Elite (NLD)Lucas Groeneveld (NLD)
29Ombra S.R.L. (ITA)Leonardo Caglioni³ (ITA)
42Tsunami R.T. (SMR)Giammarco Levorato³ (ITA)
43Tsunami R.T. (SMR)Andrea Fontana³ (ITA)
44Tsunami R.T. (SMR)Johannes Zelger³ (ITA)

*Subject to amendments.

¹ No team points ² No driver points ³ No team or driver points ⁴ Rookie Classification ⁵ ProAm Classification ⁶ No team or driver points or prize money

All sessions live on TV.

The countdown to the last race of the 2022 season starts on Friday at 11:35 am (CEST) with the Practice Session. It continues with qualifying on Saturday afternoon at 2:30 pm (CEST). Then on Sunday at 11:50 am (CEST) it’s lights out for the last time in the 8th Round of the Porsche Supercup anniversary season, as part of the Formula 1 Gran Premio d'Italia 2022. The individual sessions are live on TV, depending on your country – check local information to find out how to watch where you are. A short list of some broadcasters is in the graphic below.

If you want to catch up on all the action from the Supercup season, go to the Porsche Supercup Youtube channel . In addition to race summaries, we have collected a lot of stories and behind-the-scenes clips to help you pass the time until the start of the 2023 season. It's worth a look!

The picture shows a selection of int. TV channels broadcasting the Porsche Supercup, e.g. Sky Sport, ESPN & Ziggo

Recommended articles

The rear field of the Porsche Mobil Supercup 2022 drives through a corner shortly after the start in Le Castellet

Rookie Bastian Buus dominates heated battle in Le Castellet.

Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup

Load more