Porsche Motorsport Logo


The crowning final to the championship in Monza. Race #10 in the #PESC.

The final race of the season promised a great deal of action for spectators. Not only because none of the top ten positions were certain, apart from Joshua Rogers in first place. Even in the middle of the championship table, it was still unclear as to who would finish in the top 20. The evening's big winner was the Australian Joshua Rogers: after 2019, he can now officially call himself champion the Porsche TAG Heuer Esports Supercup by iRacing again. He consolidated his championship title with a victory in the main race, after his fellow countryman, Dayne Warren, won the sprint race.

Charlie Collins in pole position.

With five out of ten possible pole positions this season, Joshua Rogers was once again unsurpassed. But in the final race, it was the new Champion's teammate and rookie driver, Charlie Collins, who led the field during qualifying in the Temple of Speed. Throughout the entire race, the British driver fought a series of thrilling slipstream duels with Dayne Warren, who started from second place. But Dayne Warren's impeccable timing in the final lap ensured that he took the lead and never relinquished this position. Once again, it is worth emphasising that Dayne Warren is only the fifth driver to win a race this season. Only Kevin Ellis Jr had previously achieved this – along with Joshua Rogers, Mitchell deJong and Sebastian Job. However, the latter had a catastrophic final lap in Monza. A crash with Zac Campbell not only resulted in serious damage to the 911 GT3 Cup of Red Bull Racing Esports, but also an imminent points penalty for the 2020 champion.

A knife-edge battle in the main race.

The final race of the entire season got off to a stormy start, which showed no signs of abating over the total 14-lap distance. First of all, Kevin Ellis Jr spun in the first bend. The victim was Ayhancan Güven, with whom he collided. Sebastian Job withdrew during the second lap, after his car overturned, forcing him to end the race upside down. At the head of the pack, a duel ensued between Yohann Harth and Mack Bakkum. They both needed to gain important points to secure a top 20 finish – and automatically qualify for next season. After Mitchell deJong and Joshua Rogers broke away, thanks to perfectly choreographed overtaking manoeuvres, one of the two was bound to win the race. Just like the championship itself, Joshua Rogers finished the race in first place and Mitchell deJong in second. But it was the long-distance duel between Yohann Harth and Moreno Sirica that created the most excitement. Following a contact, the Italian, Moreno Sirica, had no choice but to skip the famous chicane at the start of the lap. Which resulted in an immediate slow-down penalty, as well as the loss of valuable placings and points. He fought his way back, however – only to be entangled in another critical situation just shortly after. Ultimately, his 22nd place in the race also meant that he missed out on a top 20 finish – although this may not be the end of the story. Because many of the crucial events are being reviewed by the stewards.

Teamwork makes dreams come true.

The grand final was highly emotional. When Joshua Rogers appeared live in the studio after the race, he was clearly relieved. The somersaults performed by his teammate in the background also contributed to the euphoric mood. Joshua Rogers finished the season in first place in the overall standings. Followed by his teammate, Mitchell deJong, in second. With the rookie driver of the season, Charlie Collins, taking third. An extremely dominant performance by the entire team. One thing is already certain for next season: this team will be hard to beat. And if this season has taught us one thing, it's that anything is possible in the Porsche TAG Heuer Esports Supercup by iRacing. Especially as qualification for next season is imminent. Watch this space in the coming weeks to find out how and when qualification will begin. #NeverNotRacing

Recommended articles