Porsche Motorsport Logo


It’s getting serious in Riyadh: Qualifying in group 2 and 4.

The groups for the qualifying in Riyadh of the first Formula E race of the new season were announced: André Lotterer started in group 2, while Neel Jani entered the track in Group 4.

André Lotterer – starting in the Porsche 99X Electric – was in for a tough competition within his Qualifying group, consisting of Daniel Abt, Sam Bird, Oliver Rowland, Jerome D’Ambrosio and Pascal Wehrlein. Though Lotterer kept his cool and took to performing the quickest round in sector 2 of the Ad-Diriyah Formula E circuit instead. In the end, he finished the Qualifying on position 3 just 0.572 seconds behind Bird on position 1.

Meanwhile, Neel Jani started in group 4 together with Brendon Hartley, Nico Müller, Nyck de Vries, Ma Qing Hua and James Calado. Despite the ongoing tough grip conditions, Jani confidently – in spite of the Yellow Flag – takes position 2 and finishes the Qualifying in second place.

In the first Formula E race of the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team, André Lotterer will be starting from position 7, and Neel Jani from position 20. Now, the team is all set and fully focused on preparing for the first race.