Porsche Motorsport Logo


24h of Daytona. A long night in Florida

With excitement mounting, the first race of the year will begin with two anniversaries at the long-distance classic. Daytona in January means short days, long nights and an even longer motorsport tradition: 50 years ago IMSA was founded however the first race was held at the Daytona International Speedway already 60 years ago. This 3.5 mile circuit in the Sunshine State is only half as long as Le Mans, but, with just as many competitors, the Florida race is hard-fought and frenzied. This is where we aim to test our limits and constantly improve – on one of the world’s toughest race tracks.


Our philosophy of testing the latest technology on the world’s most competitive circuits also has a long tradition in North America. The speedway in Daytona opened its doors in 1959 and hosted its first 24h race in 1966. Just two years later, Porsche achieved a triple victory. With 22 overall victories, Porsche holds a unique record in Daytona. Porsche as the record holder is something that Le Mans and Daytona have in common.

In order to appropriately celebrate 50 Years of IMSA in 2019, we will be entering two 911 RSR vehicles in the recently upgraded Brumos design. The Brumos Racing Team and Daytona share a victorious history, so a works team in white, blue and red will take to the grid once again this year. Nick Tandy, Patrick Pilet and Fred Mackowiecki will be driving the car bearing start number 911. While Earl Bamber, Laurens Vanthoor and Mathieu Jaminet will be at the wheel of the car bearing number 912.

The new 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport celebrated its world première at the “Roar before Daytona”. It is the first standard-production race car with sustainably manufactured body parts made of natural fiber composite. The new 911 GT3 R will also make its début in Florida. With even more efficient aerodynamics and considerably improved handling, it is the most versatile GT customer race car.

Brumos Porsche

The red and blue homage to a legend

Because Brumos and Porsche began their legendary history in Florida, it’s only right we write the next chapter of the old story here. The Brumos saga started in 1955 with Hubert Brundage and the first Porsche to compete in an official race outside of Europe. The Brumos Racing Team led by the legendary racing driver, Peter Gregg, won the 24h of Daytona a total of four times - first, in a Porsche 911 Carrera RSR in 1973. From 1991, the Brumos story in the IMSA Supercar series experienced a revival, with two Porsche 911 Turbos and three championship titles in a row.

In 1994, Walter Röhrl also competed in the 24h of Daytona in the traditional Brumos colors. The next attempt came in 2003: two Brumos-Porsche cars again took to the grid in Daytona. In 2009, we finally achieved our long awaited triumph in Florida. This year, this legend will again be revived and we have nothing less than victory in our sights.